The Blog of Author Robert K. Lewis

My Bouchercon Experience. How Did it Go?

It was phenomenal.

Met and spoke with so many incredible authors. Got to hang out with my amazing agent, Barbara Poelle. Here is a picture of me, Barbara, and the great writer Sophie Littlefield the night of her nomination for the Macavity award:

CQ01Z6HWwAA2IXh

I made friends with the Sheraton hotel bartender, a very spiritual man, and we bonded over the fact that we both have the Tree of Life tattooed on our arms. That led to many incredible discussions about numerology, the flower of life, and the intersection of lives.

(As a side note: I don’t want to seem to hedonistic, however, I have to say that the hotel bar ended up being my hangout. It was a blast.)

The panel I was on Friday morning, “The Appeal of the Hardboiled Novel” went well. I’m still so nervous when doing these kinds of things. And to be up on stage with writers such as Matt Coyle and Steve Hamilton only added to the nervousness.

But Bouchercon is a GREAT experience for fans of mysteries as it is for those who write them. I couldn’t recommend this convention more.

And no, I didn’t win the Shamus award, however, it was really an honor to have been nominated along with so many writers I’ve admired. I know people say stuff like that all the time when they don’t win an award, but you know? Now I know why they do.

It’s true.

I have to say though, that getting to Raleigh on the red eye from Oakland, with a layover at JFK was a terrible decision on my part, as was on our return flight, having to get up at 2:30AM so we could be ready to get our shuttle van at 4AM to get us to the airport for our 6AM flight. This wouldn’t have been so bad, had we not still been jet lagged from arriving. We each got about three hours of very interrupted sleep that night. By the time I got on the Raleigh plane that would take us to JFK for our connecting flight, I was delirious. The three day hangover didn’t help, naturally.

As an added special surprise, VW Tapes taped the panel I was on.

“Audio used courtesy of Bouchercon Writer Conference
And VW TAPES Recording. To Buy full sessions
click here

See you soon.

RkL

2 responses

  1. Hey, Robert–the “lowlight” of my trip was that we didn’t connect. And, I hung out in the bar, too. Can’t believe we didn’t connect! I’m jealous that you got to do a panel with Steve Hamilton who wrote one of the books in my all-time top three, The Lock Artist. I really wanted to meet him. Damn! Next time we’re hooking up in NOLA!

    10/15/2015 at 12:55 pm

    • Les, were you at the Marriot? I was at the Sheraton. I was usually in the bar. 🙂 We WILL drink together again! Sorry I missed you. I was looking for you, trust me.

      10/16/2015 at 12:07 am

Leave a Reply

