The Blog of Author Robert K. Lewis

So Much Catch Up!

Well, here we go… the thing that writers always look forward to: author copies.

The third Mark Mallen novel is here, Innocent Damage.

20150330_182459

And with their arrival, the journey begins again. Things are ramping up pretty fast:

-I’ve been featured in a very cool blog hub that leads to other very cool blogs. I seriously advise you to put these blogs in your bookmarks. You can’t go wrong.

-In June, I’ll be signing books at the American Library Association conference in San Francisco. Probably June 28th, at the Midnight Ink booth. More to come on that. When I know for sure, I’ll post it here.

-I did a short essay in the April Midnight Ink email publicity update. It’s all about what inspired me to write Mark Mallen (I can’t link to it directly, so here it is):

I was asked the other day what inspired me to write Mark Mallen. I can draw that inspiration all the way back to my mid-twenties when I discovered the pulp detective novels of Frank Kane, Henry Kane, Mickey Spillane and many others. Those author’s detectives were men who, even if it meant great sacrifice, would do whatever they had to do to solve a case. Those books were the ingredients that helped me to shape a detective that would harken back to that time, a detective that would be, as Raymond Chandler wrote in his legendary essay, “The Simple Art of Murder”: He must be a complete man and to use a rather weathered phrase, a man of honor—by instinct, by inevitability, without a thought of it, and certainly without saying it.”

I wanted Mallen to fit that description, a character possessing a strong sense of honor and morality. Mallen is my white knight walking the dark streets, a part of his environment but yet still apart, a quality that enables him to make those hard, moral choices. He’s a character that will stick to his guns, no matter how hard the situation. This man, this detective, will always follow his moral compass, providing an example for others of how difficult it can be to do so.

But beyond that, I was inspired to create a character that I could admire for his integrity, his strength of will and his toughness.

And that character turned out to be Mark Mallen.

* * * * *

That’s it for now, but I will be back as there is a lot of other news brewing.

 

RkL

 

 

Leave a Reply

