The Blog of Author Robert K. Lewis

So, How Did my First Reading Go?

Amazing.

Just amazing.

From the moment I walked into the store the events person there, Tara Marsden, treated me like a rock star. She was so incredibly nice. And the Books Inc. on Chestnut St. in San Francisco is fantastic. It would be a very sad world if there were no indie bookstores. Support your local indie bookstore, people!

The room was packed. Full house. They had to pull out more chairs. I read and talked for about 30-40 minutes, including answering questions at the end. I then signed copies that people had bought, and also signed the rest of the stock. At the end I told the crowd that the first five people to meet me at the pub/eatery (The Grove) across the street with a bright and shiny new book (any book) in their hands get a free drink. A large group of us ended up going and celebrating me getting my book signing cherry popped.

It was a brilliant first reading/signing. Very auspicious. Now it’s onwards to the Berkeley June 4th event!

Here’s what the window display looked like:

bookstorewindow

See ya!

RkL

2 responses

  1. How wonderful! I’m so happy to know you had a full house. There is an indie book store where I live that I plan on having a book release party at. I also may doing a reading at my university, but getting traffic for that may prove difficult. This makes me excited to do a own reading for my own book.

    05/24/2013 at 8:11 pm

  2. So how many drinks did you end up buying? Honestly, what a brilliant idea!!!! Way to go! Glad you filled the house. 🙂

    05/24/2013 at 8:12 pm

Leave a Reply

