The Blog of Author Robert K. Lewis

Made My Deadline.

So, yesterday I turned over the new version of the book to my new editor, along with some general questions.

It was VERY hard to push the “send” button, I can tell you. I think I actually closed my eyes, hit “send”, then took a long drag from my wine cup. This has just been a crazy damn month. Just a killer, really. At one point, I just said screw the cup and was walking around the house, a bottle of red wine in my hand with a baby bottle nipple on it! Really had some moments where I just wasn’t sure that I was going be able to carry this rewrite off. I mean, coming up with 50K words in a month for NANOWRIMO is one thing, but having to basically write another half to a book that already exists was like trying to figure out that puzzle box in Hellraiser.

But, I did it. 32K words, sewn into the book, and hopefully the stitches don’t show. All I can do now is wait and see. Which is cool by me, as I’m pretty wiped out. I have a couple blog posts to write for Criminal Element, so that will keep me busy, and I can start thinking about the NEXT Mark Mallen book, which will need the same thing, story-wise, that the first one needed. I should have more time in which to do THAT rewrite, though.

So, it’s all good.:-)

Oh, I wanted to tell you about a great book I’m reading. It’s very timely for me to be reading this, too, and has already been of great help to me. It’s called “Your Path to Publication: A Guide to Navigating the World of Publishing” Like I said, if you want a clear, concise, and helpful book on what exactly happens AFTER the book sells, this is the book for you. I’m loving it.

So, this is where I am. Made my first deadline with my new editor. The book is now at a good starting point (Or hopefully a little beyond that. Would love it if I actually hit this one out of the park.) for the next round of edits.

Off to play some guitar first, though!

RkL

Leave a Reply

