The Blog of Author Robert K. Lewis

My First Post as a Soon To Be Pub’d Author…

Or, better known as a quick update about how life is changing now that I landed my book deal.

Well, it’s a trip. Still doesn’t feel real most of the time. The time that it DOES feel real is when I’m sitting at my desk working on the rewriting and editing I need to get done by March 1.

Will I be nervous when I turn in the book to Editor Lady?

Hell yes!

Sure, it’s our first time going around the “here are my thoughts, and here is the new version” Maypole. I feel good about it, though, as I know we’re on the same page, so that’s all to the good.

Opening up my world more and more now, too. I sold my soul to the Devil and signed up for Facebook. I was invited to be a part of a very cool group there, one comprised solely of writers that have books coming out over the next 1.5 years, or have had books just come out. I was VERY happy to be invited into this group, as I think I will need their support as I begin the road to publication, and our shared experiences will be invaluable to me.

But yeah… Facebook. Um…

I’m going to set up a page for my book over on FB, when there’s a cover, etc. Also of note is that everyone has been incredibly supportive. The editors over at Criminal Element where I blog have been just, well… as awesome as hell in offering up all sorts of ideas to help me promote the book, when I reach that stage.

The start of this long journey has been great so far. I’ve had a couple awesome exchanges with Editor Lady that show me we’re going to work EXTREMELY well together, and really why not, right? We both have the same goal in mind: to make the Mark Mallen series the best it can be, and a roaring success for both parties.

What else have I learned? Hmmm… let me see.

Oh yeah! Contracts don’t happen overnight, lol. I didn’t really know that. I’m SSSOOOOO excited to see that document, man, I can tell you. I’ve worked so long and hard to get a book contract, you know? It will be another totally surreal moment for me when I’m standing there in my office, holding it in my hand.

Okay, gotta go back to work. My deadline is a couple weeks away, but I’m on schedule to get finished on time. I might even be a little ahead of schedule, which is how I like it, of course.

See ya!

rKl

Leave a Reply

