The Blog of Author Robert K. Lewis

I Can Now Make This Public: I Have a Book Deal!

Been a long, long road, one filled with potholes, a lot of wreckage, and a lot of emotional blood. But now?

Now this part of the journey is complete.

Thanks to my wonderful agent, Barbara Poelle and my new and also wonderful editor, Terri Bischoff, I have a two-book deal with Midnight Ink. They have such an awesome rep, and I’m so proud to be associated with them! I’m already hard at work on the edits that I need to turn in pretty quickly.

You know, it’s really funny… I have been waiting for “The Call” from my agent for, well, a couple years now. So, of course, when it comes my cell isn’t working, so I get this email saying, “Um, dude? Your cell isn’t working. Can you call me today?” I felt just like that line from The Stones’s song, “When the Whip Comes Down”: When the shit hits the fan, I’ll be sittin’ on the can!”

And I knew, when I read that email from her, right then and there, that this was IT. THIS was what I’ve worked and slaved for, for the last 8+ years, when I switched from writing screenplays to writing fiction. I wanted publication. I wanted my book out there in the world, in bookstores. Now it will be.

Still.Does.Not.Feel.Real.

I think the first time it really began to sink in was when my agent emailed me, telling me she needed a headshot of me to put up on the agency’s website, on their author’s page. Crazy!

One door has closed now, and another has opened. There is an entirely new world out there for me now. An entirely new phase of the journey, as we move forward to the publication date, which will be next year. So, as I move ahead, I’ll keep you updated with my experience during this next phase as the book gets ready to be added to the “New Releases” shelf of your local bookstore. πŸ™‚

Look for the first book in the Mark Mallen thriller series, tentatively titled Untold Damage, in Spring 2013, with the 2nd book in the series out in Spring 2014.

And yes: it is SO f’n awesome to finally be able to type the sentence, here on my blog. YES!! DID IT!!

Best,

RkL

16 responses

  1. So f**king awesome!!! I’m so incredibly happy for you!!! Can’t wait to pick it up, and you can bet your ass this will be one book I’ll be buying in paper, and not ebook. : )

    01/20/2012 at 7:59 pm

    • Aw, you rock, kiddo! Thanks! Yeah, it feels… well, great. I feel the poster child for Perseverance, Inc., lol!

      01/20/2012 at 9:22 pm

  2. Congratulations! I will live vicariously through you. Pat yourself on the back – you have worked long and hard for this.

    01/20/2012 at 10:43 pm

    • Thank you! I really appreciate the thoughtful comment. I’m wondering when, if ever, it will truly sink in!

      01/21/2012 at 7:26 am

  3. I’m right there with Cali! Definitely buying it in paper…hmm…I wonder if I could get an autographed copy??? lol..So happy for you! Perseverance is the key..you’ve said it before. That’s why I don’t stop. I may slow down, but I’ll never quit because of friends like you guys! πŸ™‚ Inspiring beyond belief! I’m drinking a toast in your honor! Just remember all of us starving writer peeps when you’re rich and famous. πŸ˜‰ whoo hooo! πŸ˜€

    01/21/2012 at 1:50 am

    • Oh, I’ll definitely get you a signed copy, never fear, Suzanne! Thanks for all the warm and nice thoughts! πŸ™‚

      01/21/2012 at 7:28 am

  4. Congratulations, Robert! I found you through Suzanne Payne’s blog. It’s an amazing feeling, right? Especially when you’ve been working at it for years and years. Good luck w/those edits!

    01/21/2012 at 2:58 am

  5. Same back at you, Anita! Congrats to you, and here’s to wishing you a grand pub day! Yeah… it’s true what they say: the longer you work at it, the sweeter the taste of the reward. πŸ™‚

    01/21/2012 at 7:30 am

  6. So happy for you! You’ve worked your patootie off for this and I couldn’t be more thrilled! I’ll do a happy dance up here in the north for you … and have a celebratory cupcake too! πŸ™‚

    01/22/2012 at 2:01 am

    • Thank you! Yeah… been a long haul, but a journey that’s been SO well worth it. I’ve learned so much about myself, if truth be told. Um… hey, that cupcake chocolate, with Vodka cream filling?

      01/22/2012 at 2:49 am

  7. Congratulations!

    01/22/2012 at 3:23 am

    • Thank you! It’s a great feeling, you know? Just as great as I’d always thought it would feel. πŸ™‚

      01/22/2012 at 3:29 am

  8. Very cool! Much congratulations to you. Looking forward to reading your work.

    01/22/2012 at 3:34 am

    • Thank you, Anita! Appreciate you stopping by. πŸ™‚

      01/22/2012 at 6:33 pm

  9. I’ll be preordering that puppy as soon as it’s available!

    Congrats!

    01/23/2012 at 6:33 pm

    • And I’ll even sign it for you!! πŸ™‚ Thanks!

      01/23/2012 at 7:55 pm

Leave a Reply

