The Blog of Author Robert K. Lewis

The Wait

Wait, is that the title of a Pretenders song?

Anyway…

I’ve turned in the latest draft of my current book to my agent. It’s her first look.

So now, I’m waiting. This is the hard part: waiting to hear back on whether she likes the book, or not. But that’s not the point of this post. No, this post is about what we can do while we are waiting.

Yeah, I know: Some people write something else. And that’s all to the best, I know. Me? Well, I need to do something other than work on another huge project, or something as difficult as a short story. Yeah, I’m blogging in a couple places, sure, so that keeps me really busy, and helps with the waiting, but…

… I need something else.

So, I play a lot of blues guitar. I’m also learning the Ukelele. Starting up (yet again) with my blues piano.

And well… the whiskey works, lol.

My point is that you need to do SOMETHING while you’re waiting to hear back from your agent, or your writer’s group member, or the family member you gave your current opus to. You HAVE to occupy yourself with other things, or you will go crazy during this period as you wait to hear back from your agent/writers group member/friend/relative/etc, who in truth may or may not be thrilled with your reinvention of Gone With the Win meets Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep.

But, this is the way it works.

You have to let it go. Wait. Let me say it again, just to drive it home: While you’re waiting to hear back from either the agent you sent a full to, or a member of your writer’s group who is giving notes on your latest, you have to let.it.go.

Or you won’t make it. Pure and simple.

Take that walk. Hell, take that weekend hike up to Mount Wherever. Get back to work on your decoupage. Once the book is out of your hands, it’s out of your hands and there ain’t jack-all you can do about that.

Go and live the rest of your life.

And yes, I’m certainly talking to myself here. 🙂

Hopefully, the news will be good, and you’ll live to fight another day on that manuscript. If the news is NOT good? Well, you just pull yourself from the wreckage, and move on. What you don’t do while you wait to hear back is chew your paws, drink yourself into oblivion, kick the cat (or your kids, or spouse), etc.

The Wait is just one more part of the process. USE that time well. Take it as a “time out”. If you have to, then go ahead and work on another project. I, as I’ve said, think you should use this time as “getaway” time, but you do what you gotta do.

It’s The Wait.

4 responses

  1. Best luck during the wait. It can be all sorts of things–a new novel, a bucket list item now crossed off, a jump start on that long promised work out–as long as we’re willing to move past the nail-biting and cat kicking.

    Great reminder that while writing is our passions, there is way more to life than waiting when the writing process calls for a time out.

    And don’t worry, she’ll love it!

    08/26/2011 at 3:01 am

  2. Thanks! And God, I hope so, lol.

    Glad you stopped by! 🙂

    08/26/2011 at 5:27 pm

  3. I’m sure you’ll hear good things back. Can’t wait to hear myself! Let us know.. 🙂

    08/29/2011 at 9:35 am

  4. Thanks for coming by Suzanne!

    And…. She loves it! YAYAYAYAY!!!! Gotta fix some stuff up, but she said not much.

    YES!! The wait is over!

    08/29/2011 at 10:43 pm

Leave a Reply

