The Blog of Author Robert K. Lewis

August Author’s Birthdays!

Okay, the last month of summer! Don’t know about where you are, but here, it’s definitely not been summer. One of the colder summers I’ve encountered here in Northern California.

8/3P.D. James – A good thing I did this post today, as today is P.D. James’ birthday. Let me just flip you this link, to show you what this incredible author has accomplished. Truly amazing.

8/6Alfred Lord Tennyson – “Dreams are true while they last, and do we not live in dreams?”

8/11Alex HaleyThe Autobiography of Malcom X. and Roots. There ya go, nuff said.

8/16T.E. Lawrence – I have The Seven Pillars of Wisdom at home, but I must admit that I haven’t read it yet. However, I do love Lawrence of Arabia!

8/20H.P. Lovecraft – The man! If you love horror, then yes, you love Lovecraft. There’s no way to list all the works that I hold close to my heart, so I’ll just post a link to the list of his work. You would not be sorry with any of these!

8/22Ray Bradbury – The OTHER man! I mean, really, again… the list is just too long. I met him once at a book signing, and he was so incredibly kind and warm. A real person, and he really fell for my mother who was with me, lol. There are just too many titles. Where would you start? The Martian Chronicles? Dandelion Wine? That little book of his… oh, what was it’s title? Oh yeah, Fahrenheit 451! His great book in writing, Zen and the Art of Writing is on my bookshelf, and I’ve read it many times.

8/27Ira Levin – A true horror master (wow, so many horror writers are born in August!). Rosemary’s Baby, The Boys From Brazil, and The Stepford Wives. Legendary books. Rosemary’s Baby is one of those books that defined my kidhood. My folks were huge, huge readers (my father and his brother owned like sixteen bookstores in Los Angeles back in the 60’s and 70’s. The main one, Circus of Books, is still around.), and one day I found that book on the coffee table. I took it and read it, and it changed how I looked at books, at what books could be. I was about ten.

8/30Mary Shelly – Last but certainly not least. Frankenstein is considered by some to be the first modern myth. Who knew that one famous summer in Switzerland would yield such an enduring work? If you haven’t read it (though I’m sure most of you did back in High School), then go for it. It’s really beautiful and dark, and asks some very deep questions about man and God and creation.

Again, happy birthday to all of them!

RKL

I mean, wow… look at that list! August was a great month for author birthdays! Happy birthday to them! Go read their books! Go! Go now!

2 responses

  1. Cat Wood–August 29th. Oh wait, do we have to be published first?

    Maybe their awsomeness will rub off on me by default!

    08/04/2010 at 1:15 pm

  2. No, it counts, whether pub’d or not! 🙂

    Happy early birthday wishes!

    08/04/2010 at 7:03 pm

Leave a Reply

