The Blog of Author Robert K. Lewis

June Birthdays.

Hey, I’m getting better! It’s less than ten days into the month before I remembered I was going to post June birthdays. June is a special month for me, as it’s also my birthday month, and judging by this list, I’m in good company. There weren’t any crime writers or thriller writers who were born in June, so I opened it up to all genres.

6/10: Maurice Sendak. Yes! Where The Wild Things Are is STILL one of my all time favorite books.

6/14: Jerzy Kosinski. If you’ve never read The Painted Bird, you should. It’s a dark and beautiful nightmare journey through a war torn eastern Europe. A truly chilling book. I went on to read all of his books, and there were no bad ones.

6/16: Joyce Carol Oates. The first book of hers that I ever read was a collection of short stories called Heat. Changed my life. JCO is one of the greatest writers alive, hands down.

6/17: John Hersey. One book is all you need to know: Hiroshima. ‘Nuff said.

6/21: John Paul Sarte. Go read No Exit. Do it now!

6/24: Ambrose Bierce. The Devil’s Dictionary is a great work. And if you need a legendary example of short story writing, go read An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge. I reread Bierce’s short stories all the time. Never tire of them. His disappearance in Mexico in 1913 is still one of the greatest mysteries to befall any writer.

6/25: George Orwell. What can you say? If you haven’t read 1984, then I’m reporting you to the Thought Police.

Happy Birthday!

RKL.

3 responses

  1. You can’t post something like that and then not tell us when your birthday is! ; )

    Will have to add those books to my “to be read” pile. Thanks!

    06/07/2010 at 5:08 pm

  2. My birthday is… wait for it…

    …. keep waiting…

    … here it is…!!!

    My birthday is….

    … in June!

    06/07/2010 at 8:24 pm

  3. LOL!!! You crack me up.

    06/07/2010 at 8:26 pm

Leave a Reply

