The Blog of Author Robert K. Lewis

Mid-Point!

Yep, that’s where I currently am in my first draft. It’s now about 42K and some change.

I love getting to this point, as it feels it’s all downhill skiing from here. I can see the end now, still way off in the distance, the heat waves rising from the pavement making it hazy and dreamlike, but I can see it now.

In my novels, this part of the story contains a major turning point, one that redirects the story into a new direction. I’m not sure if this is technically a “correct” thing to do, however, that’s the way it’s ended up so far in the last three books I’ve written. In an earlier book I wrote, one that is hopefully now on its way to becoming a graphic novel, there was a very distinct line between the first half of the book, which took part in our world, and the second half, which took place in Hell.

Just seems to be a natural thing for me. What about you? Are you aware of reaching any points in your story, like the third act, or end of the first act? I’m always very aware of these demarcation lines in my stories. I feel it’s important to be aware of them, and write with them in mind, at least in some way. I realize not everyone does that, of course, and some just… well, write. Nothing wrong with that, that’s for sure. I used to be that way, however that was awhile ago now. I feel the game has slowed down for me a bit, and I can step back and keep a larger picture of the book in my head, and the direction it takes me in. I would love to hear your thoughts on this. Do you feel anything when you reach the mid-point of your book?

Oh yeah! Let me you about my new blog. If you’re a guitar enthusiast, you might dig it. I’m assembling my own Telecaster copy, and chronicling the journey. It’s called “From Wood to Sound“. Hope you enjoy.

See ya.

R

4 responses

  1. I think of my novel in chunks – all focus on character development and plot. I seem to have 3 chunks- although I haven’t actually put much thought into it before. I’ll have to analyze it more closely πŸ™‚

    03/27/2010 at 10:30 pm

    • I, too, often think of chunks when I’m writing, but it’s more along the lines of hurling chunks, lol. πŸ™‚

      03/30/2010 at 5:34 pm

  2. For me, the first 10K words cruise along, and then it feels like I meander for another 40K words until I finally have a real sense of direction and start aiming for the end. I try not to feel too lost along the way, but it’s nice when it all finally falls into place and it all makes sense. πŸ™‚

    03/29/2010 at 11:34 pm

    • I often feel lost, too. I think that’s a part of it for most writers. The only time I really didn’t feel that lost was when I wrote 10K words in three days. I could feel the movement in the novel on an entirely new level, and I also could keep all the threads in my hands/head.

      03/30/2010 at 5:35 pm

Leave a Reply

