The Blog of Author Robert K. Lewis

Wednesday Doldrums Music and More Post.

So there I was, sitting at my desk the other day, feeling that maybe I need to find a way to open up Needle City a little more. The solution I found to this quandary was to begin posting, from time to time, items regarding things other than writing.

This could serve a couple purposes:
1. As there’s just not a lot of news in my little, wine saturated life at the moment of the writing-related nature, it would keep the blog flowing forward through time, rather than wandering aimlessly as a forgotten derelict ship on the oceans of the internetz tubez.
2. This would give me the freedom to talk about the other things in my life that make me bounce about like a four month old puppy in search of a tree.

So, without further ado, here’s a rough tape of me playing guitar. And no, I am by no stretch of the imagination a good producer (or guitarist), lol.

Here’s something that’s very cool. The Paladins, live in Holland.

And well, okay, here’s something writing-related. In case you missed it, Ten Rules For Writing Fiction. To say that there’s a wealth of information here is like calling Raymond Chandler a scribbler.

Finally, because I LOVE abandoned spaces and how haunting and sad they are, here’s a very cool photo essay of abandoned shopping malls. I’ve done my fair share of walking through abandoned spaces like this, and I think it’s gone a long way to informing my writing. Abandoned warehouses, buildings, etc, seem to always find their way into my stories.

Enjoy.

R

6 responses

  1. You totally rock!! So talented. : )

    If you like abandoned buildings, check this out– http://www.time.com/time/photogallery/0,29307,1882089_1850973,00.html

    03/10/2010 at 10:19 pm

  2. Thanks! I’ve done better stuff. And a HUGE thanks for that link! Man… how sad and beautiful. Detroit must be a trip. I’ve seen photos where nature is taking back some of the neighborhoods there. Amazing stuff.

    03/10/2010 at 10:42 pm

  3. Very cool! My son loves playing the guitar. He’s just learning (without lessons) but I love listening to him play. I could never get my hands to stretch and move properly.

    03/11/2010 at 12:28 am

  4. Took me a really long time just to get THAT bad, lol! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for stopping by.

    03/11/2010 at 1:14 am

  5. Bad as in good maybe. Nice job!

    The link to the abandoned malls was a trip. I find it sad, yet reassuring that we’ve left behind some of the things we thought were so important at one time.

    In our prairie we have a few places where nature is reclaiming. I always wonder what stories reside in the dilapidation. Maybe that’s why they seem to make the best back drops in novels.

    03/12/2010 at 3:54 pm

  6. I agree. I’ve been in places where the history is SO strong, it’s a palpable feeling, and perfect to be rendered into words.

    And thanks for the compliment on the music. ๐Ÿ™‚

    03/12/2010 at 4:59 pm

Leave a Reply

