The Blog of Author Robert K. Lewis

Sh*t! I Got Tagged.

So, I have been officially “tagged”. By the irrepressible and wondrous Calista Taylor (creator of a fantastic steampunk blog, called “A Steampunk Reverie“. Read it. Know it. Love it.), so I guess I am an…. “it”. This started with the funtastic Jemi Fraser, and you sure as sh*t need to check out her blog here.

I gotta answer some questions. Here they are, along with my answers. Bar’s open. Have a drink while you read. If you can finish six shots (just like a .38) before you get to the end of this, send me your bar tab. I may just pay it.

1)What’s the last thing you wrote? What’s the first thing you wrote that you still have?

The last thing I wrote is the rewrite I’m working on. I had to go back in and toughen up the voice of the book. It’s been working well, and been a helluva lot of work. I don’t have anything that I wrote from that long ago. There was a story about a huge penis bird that attacked a bunch of natives, but it was banned by the federal government. The next earliest thing would be a short story called “Cockroach“, over on Cherrybleeds, a literary journal you should know about.

2) Write poetry?

Did. Once. I found it very natural, so of course gave it up immediately. Life is meant to be a struggle. (cue heavy Russian music)

3) Angsty poetry?

Well, like Blake and Baudalaire, actually.

4) Favorite genre of writing?

Noir. Thrillers. Anything dark.

5) Most annoying character you’ve ever created?

Well, there was this high-voiced Japanese catholic schoolgirl vampire who…

6) Best plot you’ve ever created?

The best one I’ve done is the one I’ve just finished the first draft on. It’s the most complex and layered. I’m pretty psyched about it, actually.

7) Coolest plot twist you’ve ever created?

The one that’s in the book my agent is currently shopping, so I can’t really tell ya now, can I? 😉

8.) How often do you get writer’s block?

Don’t, really. Some days, I may only write about a page, but it’s still moving forward. I’m never really stuck, because I draw alot from “what happens next? And then? And then after that?”, which is based on what and who my characters are. I hate to sound so pompous, however, writer’s block has never really happened to me. Now, blocked because of what I eat? THAT’S a horse of a different color.

9.) Write fan fiction?
Nope. Rather write a fan letter.

10) Do you type or write by hand
?
My handwriting is akin to a doctor’s. A drunk doctor with fits. I type. On a laptop.

11) Do you save everything you write?
Yeah. Not that I might look at it one day. Just because of my O.C.D.

12) Do you ever go back to an idea after you’ve abandoned it?
Sometimes. But usually only after years have passed, and I can look on it with fresh eyes. I find that the core ideas I can’t seem to get rid of, the ones that haunt after me? The ones continually there in my peripheral? Those are the ones I usually end up revisiting.

13) What’s your favorite thing you’ve ever written?
The new book. It’s in a sh*t state right now, but I just love how complex it is.

14) What’s everyone else’s favorite story you’ve written?
Ha! I can’t think of one damn thing. Well, I guess it would be Needle Priest. People seemed to really enjoy that one. Everyone seemed to get off on the idea of a guy shooting up in a confessional. I know I did. And it gave me the idea for writing more about Mark Mallen.

15) Ever written romance or angsty teen drama?

Oh lord. I totally believe in the first, and was completely the second, but no… never did.

16) What’s your favorite setting for your characters?
I love the “mean streets”. Like New York 1970’s films mean, you know? Skid Row. The Tenderloin. I love the places that used to be called “the underbelly” of the city. The darkness. Yeah, I guess I love what people would call “the bleak”. It’s probably because I’m such a redemption junkie. The concept of working from “the low” to “the high”.

17) How many writing projects are you working on right now?
Two. Both are in the rewrite stage.

18) Have you ever won an award for your writing?
Hell no. People are smarter than that.

19) What are your five favorite words?
GREAT question! Verisimilitude, replete, yes, song, and fondle. They all roll off the tongue in very nice ways, yes?

20) What character have you created that is most like yourself?
All of ’em are like me. But, well, I guess Mallen is most like me. He’s got demons he’s fighting. He wants to, needs to do good. He’s not quite there yet, but that won’t stop him. He just keeps going.


21) Where do you get your ideas for your characters?

I really can’t say. They just come. I usually start with an image, and go from there. The characters reveal themselves as I go. Come into focus as I tell the story. However, I guess I could say they all come from my own personal need for redemption. ALL my characters are in need of some redemption, and I guess if I start anywhere, I start from there.

22) Do you ever write based on your dreams?
Oh hell no! I’d be writing horror that would send people shrieking out the door!

23) Do you favor happy endings?

I favor whatever ending the book needs, really. Happy or sad, doesn’t matter to me.

24) Are you concerned with spelling and grammar as you write?

Man, I’d never get beyond the first draft if I did it that way. I’m HORRIBLE at grammar. Gotten better at spelling. I deal with the grammar later on. My job is to get the story down first, make it as compelling as possible. THEN I’ll deal with the grammar and spelling.

25) Does music help you write?

Always. I can only listen to ambient, or classical. Classical if it’s only like a solo cello. Nothing too over the top and invading. Certainly nothing with words. Stars of The Lid, Windy and Carl, William Basinski, etc.

26) Quote something you’ve written. Whatever pops in your head.

“It stung, the dismissal like he was about as necessary as an extra asshole.”

*******************

Please be sure to check out Jemi’s blog, since she brought us this fun game!!

8 responses

  1. You’re always so funny. Loved it!! I’m so glad you decided to play. : )

    12/19/2009 at 12:40 pm

  2. Oh! And thanks for the amazingly kind words and fantastic link to my blog!! : )

    12/19/2009 at 12:43 pm

  3. You are a riot!! I laughed the whole way through this 🙂

    I can’t wait until I can buy your book off the shelf, although I may have to close my eyes through some parts!

    12/19/2009 at 5:49 pm

  4. Jemi: Thanks for providing this game, Madam. It was fun! Felt like I just did my first interview, lol. 🙂 Can a book be “R” rated, like a movie?

    Calista: Always, Youngin’!

    Glad you guys laughed. I’m just hard wired to joke about stuff, I guess.

    12/19/2009 at 7:05 pm

  5. I was thinking your favorite word would be…

    Merry Christmas to you. I hope you get a publishing contract in early 2010!

    12/23/2009 at 3:45 pm

    • Thanks! I hope you sign with a fantastic agent in 2010. Best to you and yours this holiday season.

      12/23/2009 at 8:45 pm

  6. Loved the answers. You always make me laugh. Except when I cringe. I love reading dark, noirish books so can’t wait for you to sign that impending contract!

    12/29/2009 at 3:29 pm

  7. Thanks, Cat! Always great to hear from you. 🙂

    12/29/2009 at 7:47 pm

Leave a Reply

